ICC T20 World Cup: List of Winners from 2007 to 2021

The T20 world cup has not been around for the longest time, with the inaugural competition being held back in 2007. Ever since then, the competition has been held in inconsistent intervals, and the competition has seen a winner repeated once in 7 editions since. No host has ever won the world cup in the history of the competition, which throws out the home advantage argument that many might have in such a competition.

The winners of the ICC T20 world cup are as follows - 


India won the first-ever t20 world cup in an iconic clash between two of the greatest rivals in cricketing history as they took on Pakistan in the final in south Africa. It was an extremely close match which saw India lift the trophy and etch their name in history under MS Dhonis stewardship.

List of Winners from 2007 to 2021

West Indies

They are the only team to have ever won the world cup twice. They won the world cup in 2012 and 2016, and both wins cemented their position as one of the best cricketing teams on the planet. Unfortunately, they havent been performing well, which has seen them miss out on qualification for the world cup being held in Australia this October.


Pakistan lost the final in 2007 to India. It was a bitter loss to stomach them, but it wasnt long before they tasted success themselves. They won the second-ever t20 world cup in 2009 but havent been able to repeat it ever since, which they will be hoping they correct this November.

Sri Lanka

They are one of the dark horses of the competition, and they always have been in every ICC competition they take part in. but they were able to win the T20 world cup back in 2014, beating an early winner in India in the final as they took the trophy back home with them.


It was unnatural for Australia as they found themselves not being able to win the world cup at all. They would see their rivals win the competition as they would try and try again, only to fail. In 2021, the first post-pandemic T20 world cup was held, and they went on to win it all. It was a long time coming for them, as they managed to win the competition with a highly talented squad.

List of Winners from 2007 to 2021


England was the third-ever T20 world cup winner, and it was also the third consecutive year that the competition was being held. It also allowed other teams to take a chance and win the world cup since they were unable to in previous editions. But with one of their prime squads in their history, they would manage to win the world cup to quash the chants of never being able to win the competition.

The T20 world cup is one of the most exciting and fast-paced formats in cricket that has inspired many greats and historical moments throughout its existence, and we expect the same to be the case in 2022.